Jackson Elementary Principal Selected for 2018 Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership

Oct 24, 2018 | Community Relations


Lamar CISD’s Jackson Elementary Principal Deana Gonzalez was selected as one of only 11 recipients of the 2018 Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership from U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

Named for the second U.S. Secretary of Education, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education and improving outcomes for all students. Principals chosen for this award have transformed their schools. Their vision and collaborative leadership have produced outstanding results for their students.

“We’re extremely proud of Deana and her work at Jackson Elementary,” said Lamar CISD Superintendent Dr. Thomas Randle. “Through effective leadership, high expectations and quality relationships, she creates an environment where students feel supported and excel academically.”


Gonzalez has been principal at Jackson Elementary since 2013. She cultivates a thriving school culture by setting high expectations and leading with a growth mindset. From developing a tutor program for her students, to reaching out to parents, local churches, businesses and non-profit organizations in the community, Gonzalez understands the importance of building relationships and increasing involvement. Click here for a brief summary of her work at Jackson Elementary.

The Bell Award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Gonzalez will be recognized with the other Bell Award recipients during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Nov. 7 in Washington, D.C.

For more information, visit the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program website.